CREtech Climate Virtual Summit

-

CREtech Climate Virtual Summit

-

Join us for the inaugural CREtech Climate Virtual Summit to raise awareness and drive measurable investment in climate tech, sustainability and ESG in the Built World. As the real estate sector is responsible for 40% of all carbon emissions globally, the industry has both the obligation as well as the opportunity to make an extraordinary impact in creating a healthier, safer and cleaner planet. This event will give you actionable plans and inspiration to make real change.

The first day of the event will feature a thought provoking series of corporate executives, venture capitalists, real estate leaders, industry associations and governmental authorities who will engage in meaningful dialogue on effective strategies for decarbonizing the real estate industry. The following day will showcase demos of groundbreaking technological solutions aimed to combat the climate crisis.

CREtech is joined by Founding Sponsors: Fifth Wall, the largest venture capital firm focused on technology-driven innovation for the global real estate industry; Savills, a global real estate services provider; Oxford Properties Group, a leading global commercial real estate investor, developer and manager; RXR, a leading real estate owner, investor, operator and developer; EY, a global consulting, assurance, tax and transaction services company;  Rudin Management Company, one of the largest privately owned real estate companies in New York City; and Logical Buildings, a sustainability and smart building technology for the Built World. CREtech Climate is additionally supported by prestigious Industry Partners: British Property Federation, Building Transparency, Carbon Leadership ForumClimate Futures, GRESB, MIT Center for Real Estate, NewCities, PropTech for Good, The Clean Fight, and the Urban Land Institute.

Event Details

  • Start Date:

    Tuesday, May 11, 2021 at 10:00am EDT

  • End Date:

    Wednesday, May 12, 2021 at 2:00pm EDT

  • Where:

    Online
  • Add to calendar

Agenda

    • 10:00 AM EST / 7:00 AM PST

      Conference Welcome

    • 10:10 AM EST / 7:10 AM PST

      Keynote: Concrete Results

      • Jenny Mitchell, LEED AP BD+C

        Senior Manager, Workplace

        Linkedin
    • 10:40 AM EST / 7:40 AM PST

      COP26 Preview: Spotlight on UK real estate’s climate change ambitions

      As the UK prepares to host the 26th UN Climate Change Conference in Glasgow on 1-12 November, UK real estate leaders discuss the sector’s progress to date and challenges ahead to ensure a more sustainable future.

    • 11:10 AM EST / 8:10 AM PST

      The Occupiers Perspective On Green Workspaces

      As trusted advisors to some of the world’s most significant corporate occupiers, Savills & Macro are uniquely positioned to advise and work on some of the world’s most significant occupier projects. In light of the threat that carbon emissions pose to humanity, we see global occupiers prioritizing and advocating for quantification and ultimately reduction of carbon emissions on behalf of their key stakeholders (shareholders, employees, etc.). This will have a big impact on the Built World. In this panel, learn from real examples of clients successfully quantifying green premiums, return on investment business cases, and navigate to successful outcomes.

      • Patrick McGrath

        EVP, Chief Information Officer, Head of Client Technologies

        Savills
      • Michael Glatt

        Vice Chairman, North American Head of Project Management

        MACRO, A Savills Company
    • 11:40 AM EST / 8:40 AM PST

      Showcasing Leadership in Sustainability: How Fifth Wall's LP Hudson Pacific Properties Aims Big in CSR and Backs It Up

      Fifth Wall's, Tyson Woeste, interviews strategic LP, Hudson Pacific Properties (HPP), about their audacious corporate social responsibility plans. Join us, to hear how HPP's SVP of Innovation, Sustainability and Social Impact, Natalie Teear, weaves technology and sustainability into their CSR strategy, plus the most promising applications of technology they are banking on to meet their aggressive sustainability goals.

    • 12:10 PM EST / 12:40 AM PST

      A Call to Action: The role of real estate in reducing carbon emissions

      The carbon agenda is at the forefront of the Biden administration, and many states and cities within the US have introduced legislation to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. As the investment community increasingly focuses on ESG, real estate owners and users must ask themselves: What is the role of real estate in fighting climate change? In this presentation, learn more about proposed carbon tax legislation with direct and indirectly implications for the real estate sector, and hear how one of the largest occupiers globally, EY, is taking a leading stance in their properties to mitigate the impacts of climate change.

      • Mark Grinis

        Global Real Estate, Hospitality and Construction Leader

        EY
      • Brandon Pizzola

        Quantitative Economics and Statistics (QUEST) Senior Manager

        EY
      • Matthew Narracott

        Nordics Real Estate Leader | Business Enablement

        EY
    • 12:40 PM EST / 9:40 AM PST

      How the EC3 Tool is Driving Low-Carbon Procurement and Buy Clean Policy

      During this session, Stacy Smedley, Executive Director of Building Transparency, will highlight the urgent need to reduce the embodied carbon emissions of our building materials and products, the breakthrough represented by this open-source tool, and how EC3 supports low-carbon material procurement. Following a brief demo of the tool, she will participate in a quick Q&A session with Vaclav to discuss how this tool supports the development of better buildings and contributes to Buy Clean policy.

    • 1:20 PM EST / 10:20 AM PST

      Taking the Lead on Embodied Carbon: Guidance for Building Owners and Investors

      Investors, developers, building owners, and tenants are uniquely positioned to lead in decarbonizing construction through their role in spurring new projects and setting project requirements. Businesses that take a leading role in committing to truly net-zero goals that include embodied carbon will avoid regulatory and reputational risks and lead the world in setting best practices in this fast growing area of climate policy and action. Join Anthony Hickling and Meghan Lewis from the Carbon Leadership Forum to learn about setting embodied carbon targets and taking meaningful steps to decarbonize, from portfolio to project to product.

    • 1:50 PM EST / 10:50 AM PST

      How Game-Changing Climate Solutions are a Win/Win for the Built Environment

    • 2:20 PM EST / 11:20 AM PST

      Fireside with Rudin Management: 20 Years of Green Development

    • 10:10 AM EST / 7:10 AM PST

      The Tech Perspective: Adopting Innovation is the Solution

    • 10:45 AM EST / 7:45 AM PST

      TECH DEMO: Kairos

      Water damage is costing insurance companies and property owners $11 Billion dollars annually. Most properties do not have adequate technology to tackle the tricky ways in which water threatens the stability of life for owners and occupants. Kairos created a patented water technology system that is designed from the ground up to tackle the threat of water damage and utility waste from virtually any source using advanced wireless sensors and smart water meters that feature an automatic shutoff valve. By utilizing our cutting-edge platform, clients will feel more secure about the condition of their property at any given moment with real time insight and control by minimizing exposure to catastrophic losses from sources of water.

    • 11:10 AM EST / 8:10 AM PST

      TECH DEMO: Logical Buildings

      Sustainability and Smart Building Technology for the Built World. Earn Money, Save Money, Reduce Carbon.

    • 11:35 AM EST / 8:35 AM PST

      TECH DEMO: AKF Group & NYSERDA

      Through a commitment to optimizing spaces, AKF’s MEP/FP Engineering and Integrated Services power human potential in the buildings where we work so occupants can live, heal, learn, work, and play to the best of their abilities. Our team is dedicated to innovating new ways to design and operate the built environment amidst the evolving landscape and trends of the AEC industry. From design through ongoing operations, AKF is an industry leader in identifying areas for energy optimization and financial savings to reduce environmental impact and improve building energy use.

    • 12:00 PM EST / 9:00 AM PST

      TECH DEMO: Legend Power Systems Corp

      Legend Power Systems is a publicly-traded company on the Toronto Venture Stock Exchange under the ticker symbol LPS and on the OTCQB Venture Market under the ticker symbol LPSIF.

  • Michael Beckerman

    CREtech

    CEO

  • Jenny Mitchell, LEED AP BD+C

    Linkedin

    Senior Manager, Workplace

  • John Gilbert

    Rudin Management Company

    COO/EVP/CTO

  • Patrick McGrath

    Savills

    EVP, Chief Information Officer, Head of Client Technologies

  • Guy Grainger

    JLL

    Guy Grainger

  • Mark Grinis

    EY

    Global Real Estate, Hospitality and Construction Leader

  • Ben Myers

    Boston Properties

    Vice President, Sustainability

  • Michael Rudin

    Rudin Management Company

    Senior Vice President

  • Melanie Leech

    British Property Federation

    Chief Executive

  • Edward Vaughan Dixon

    Aviva Investors

    Head of ESG - Real Assets

  • Meghan Lewis

    Carbon Leadership Forum

    Senior Researcher

  • Michael Glatt

    Savills

    Vice Chairman, North American Head of Project Management

  • Stacy Smedley

    Building Transparency

    Executive Director

  • Kate Frucher

    The Clean Fight

    Managing Director and Co-Founder

  • Anthony Hickling

    Carbon Leadership Forum

    Managing Director

  • Matthew Eggers

    Breakthrough Energy Ventures

    Investor

  • Christian Weeks

    enVerid Systems

    CEO

  • Tyson Woeste

    Fifth Wall

    Partner

  • Vaclav Hasik

    Building Transparency

    Data and Methodology Manager

  • icon

    Lorna Walker

    Modomo

    COO and Head of ESG

  • icon

    Natalie Teear

    Hudson Pacific Properties, Inc.

    Vice President, Sustainability and Social Impact

  • icon

    Matthew Narracott

    EY

    Nordics Real Estate Leader | Business Enablement

  • icon

    Brandon Pizzola

    EY

    Quantitative Economics and Statistics (QUEST) Senior Manager

Sponsors

If you are interested in becoming an event partner, please click here

Join the CREtech Climate Community

Join the CREtech Climate Community to subscribe to our newsletter and get trending climate tech headlines delivered to your inbox daily.

or if you're already a member

Login

Applications are now open for the 8th Annual Real Estate Tech Awards!

X